ExportXMLWordPrintable

    • Type: Bug
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Priority: Normal
    • None
    • Affects Version/s: 3.0.0a4
    • Component/s: Profiles, Scripting
    • None
    • Environment:
      macOS 15.8

      When Tagger Scripts are associated with an Option Profile, unchecking the profile’s Tagger scripts setting will delete them.

      To reproduce

      1. Open Picard’s preferences, create a new Option Profile
      2. In Settings to include in profile, check Scripting and its sub-options
      3. Go to the Scripting section and create a new tagger script
      4. Return to Option Profiles, select the profile from step 1, and uncheck Tagger scripts
      5. Back in the Scripting section, observe that the new script from step 3 is gone

      This reproduction uses a new profile to avoid data loss, but the same thing can happen with existing profiles. The only escape hatch for an existing profile seems to be realizing what happened after step 4 and canceling out of preferences.

      Thoughts/Recommendations

      • When scripts are associated with a profile and the Tagger scripts setting is unchecked, there should be a dialog that identifies the associated scripts and gives the choice whether to:
      • Save the scripts in another profile or no profile (i.e. base preferences), chosen via dropdown
      • Delete the scripts
         
      • It would be helpful if there was more granularity to differentiate between associated and activated scripts. This would make it possible to have scripts that are available across profiles but only automatically run in some of them (which is definitely something I’d like to do).

      The updated profile settings could look something like:

          • Scripting
            • Enable tagger scripts
            • Saved scripts
            • Activated scripts
               
      • There currently doesn’t seem to be an easy way to move scripts between profiles. The cleanest way to handle this might be a new entry on the right-click menu for each script that offers a submenu with a list of profiles along with an entry for no profile (i.e. move it back to base preferences).

       

      I’m fairly confident the current behaviour is an oversight, but I’ve searched tickets and the forum and haven’t been able to find any mentions of something similar, which makes me think I may be missing something obvious. If I am, I apologize for the noise. Of course, please let me know if anything isn’t clear. And thanks to everyone for the hard work on Picard 3!

            Assignee:
            Unassigned
            Reporter:
            mv20nb
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            2 Start watching this issue

              Created:
              Updated:

                Version Package