Uploaded image for project: 'MusicBrainz Server'
  1. MusicBrainz Server
  2. MBS-5431

Moving entities to or merging them artists into Deleted Artist should not be allowed

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Normal
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 2012-10-01
    • Fix Version/s: 2012-11-14
    • Component/s: Edit system
    • Labels:
      None

      Description

      See title. Data filed under Deleted Artist is not easily accessible to users, nor is there any good reason to store anything there. But it is possible to move entities there via DA's MBID http://musicbrainz.org/artist/c06aa285-520e-40c0-b776-83d2c9e8a6d1. Luckily, it seems like I'm among the only ones who tried such hijinks.

      Furthermore, merging artists into Deleted Artist creates a bizarre situation probably best understood through examples.
      MBz Test Artist: http://test.musicbrainz.org/artist/7e84f845-ac16-41fe-9ff8-df12eb32af55
      Nagios check release: http://test.musicbrainz.org/release/1735e086-462e-42c3-b615-eebbd5e9f352
      The test artist didn't get merged into Deleted Artist when the merge passed, but it now gets treated just like Deleted Artist. Among other things, that means the artist page displays a Page Not Found. But through the existing releases, one can see that the artist still exists.

      The second phenomenon could be hard to fix, so I suggest that we just check that no moves and merges toward Deleted Artist can be entered into the edit system.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Assignee:
              ianmcorvidae Ian McEwen
              Reporter:
              krscuan KRSCuan
            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              0 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:

                Packages

                Version Package
                2012-11-14