Uploaded image for project: 'Picard'
  1. Picard
  2. PICARD-1113

New file copies made when filename unchanged

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Normal
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 1.4
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: File Move & Rename
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:
      Windows 10

      Description

      If file renaming is on and the files are saved, and if the renaming script generates the same name as the existing file name, a new file is created with that name appended by "(1)" and the old file is deleted. This means that any other software with links to the files can no longer find them. A work-round is to save the files again and then remember to turn file renaming off before any further saves.

      While the work-round works for single releases, it is awkward particularly if there are multiple releases which need saving with and without renaming.

      A better result would be obtained by simply ignoring the file renaming if it generates exactly the same name as the current file name.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                Unassigned
                Reporter:
                MetaTunes Mark Evens
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:

                  Packages

                  Version Package